RSS feed advertising

I read with interest that Yahoo! will be discontinuing its Ads in RSS service – the service allowed contextual advertising to be served in RSS feeds. Google and other providers also offer a similar service.

I can’t say I am surprised at this announcement as the way people consume RSS is very different from just plain ol’ web browsing.  People subscribing to these feeds are just looking for specific content to be delivered and are not in “browse” mode as they may be were they to read the same stories on the web. As a user myself of RSS I am looking to skim through content sent to me and will only click through those stories that pique my interest.

As with any new media channel I would always advocate testing these and often new innovations give us an opportunity to talk to clients, keeping them ahead of the game. Indeed, I tested RSS advertising back in late 2007 for a client and although results were unspectacular it demonstrated how we are always thinking of new ways to grow and improve campaign learnings and results.

Leave a Reply

